Anti-trust Laws

acts adopted by Congress to outlaw or restrict business practices considered to be monopolistic or which restrain interstate commerce; the Sherman Antitrust Act of 1890 declared illegal "every contract, combination, or conspiracy in restraint of trade or commerce" between states or foreign countries; the Clayton Antitrust Act of 1914, amended by the Robinson-Patman Act of 1936, prohibits discrimination among customers through pricing and disallows mergers, acquisitions or takeovers of one firm by another if the effect will "substantially lessen competition"